Jacksonburg Village Council

Background about the Office:

  • Candidates for Jacksonburg Village Council are elected in odd year General Elections.
  • Jacksonburg Village Council members are elected at-large.
  • There are six council seats.
    • Four seats are on the ballot in 2017.
    • Two seats are on the ballot in 2019.
  • Each term is 4 years. (R.C. 733.09)
  • Each term begins on January 1st following the election. (R.C. 733.09)

Current Elected Officials:

  • Elsie Mae Brewer (term expires in 2017)
  • Ralph Lee Brewer (term expires in 2017)
  • Kathy May Cox (term expires in 2017)
  • Diane Karen Wagner (term expires in 2017)
  • Ivan S. Northern (term expires in 2019)
  • Laura Mae Sword (term expires in 2019)

What are the requirements to run for Jacksonburg Village Council?

Candidates for this position must:

  • Live within Jacksonburg.
  • Be a registered elector of Jacksonburg.
  • Be at least 18 years of age. (OH Const. Art. V, §1, Art. XV §4)

How do I run for Jacksonburg Village Council?

  1. Complete petition form 3-O.  (Note:  Petition forms should be printed on legal sized, 8 1/2" x 14" paper)
  2. Required signatures. (R.C. 3513.251)
    • Collect between 10 and 30 signatures.
    • File petitions with the Butler County Board of Elections no later than 90 days before the date of the General election. (R.C. 3513.251, 3513.261)
    • Pay filing fee by check or with exact change of $30.00. (R.C. 3513.10, 3513.251, 3513.261)

What are the Campaign Finance Requirements?

All candidates running for office who spend any money, including their own personal funds, must file a Designation of Treasurer (Form 30-D) and complete subsequent reports. Candidates for this office should file with the Butler County Board of Elections.

Call Candidate and Ballot Services at 513-887-3700, ext. 3 with any questions or for more information.